Denver Firearm Violations Attorney
Fighting Back Against Gun Crime Charges in Jefferson County, CO
Although you have the right to bear arms in America, restrictions exist on where a person has a gun, how the gun may be possessed, who may possess it, and when it may be used. Article 12 of the Colorado Revised Statutes lists various conduct that may be considered a firearms violation. These crimes range from misdemeanors to felonies, but all carry harsh penalties. If you are facing a gun crime charge, speak with a Denver firearms violation attorney about your case as soon as possible. Early action can help in building an aggressive defense and allow you to seek reduced penalties.
At Jim Medley Defense Lawyer, our highly skilled firearms violation attorney in Denver, CO has 20 years of experience in the criminal justice field. As a former police officer and current defense lawyer, he is thoroughly familiar with gun laws. We know what your rights are and will do everything in our legal power to protect them. We are ready to listen to your side of the story and craft a compelling strategy on your behalf. Throughout your case, we will deliver caring advocacy and are prepared to vigorously work toward obtaining an optimal outcome on your behalf.
Colorado's Gun Laws
As alluded to earlier, Colorado has several laws concerning firearms. Possible gun violations range from possessing an illegal weapon to defacing a firearm and unlawfully purchasing a gun to obtaining one while under disability.
Below is a further examination of a few of these statutes:
- Possessing a dangerous weapon (CRS § 18-12-102): In Colorado, it is unlawful for any person to knowingly possess a firearm silencer, machine gun, short shotgun, short rifle, or ballistic knife. A first offense is a class 5 felony, punishable by 1 to 3 years of imprisonment and/or $1,000 to $100,000 in fines. A second or subsequent violation is a class 4 felony, carrying a prison sentence of 2 to 6 years and/or a fine between $2,000 and $500,000.
- Possessing a defaced firearm (CRS § 18-12-103): A defaced firearm is one where the weapon's serial number or other identifying markings have been removed, altered, or destroyed. This offense is a class 1 misdemeanor and is penalized by between 6 and 18 months of incarceration and/or a fine between $500 and $5,000.
- Defacing a firearm (CRS § 18-12-104): Any person who removes, alters, or destroys a gun's serial number or identifying markings can be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, they face 6 to 18 months in jail and/or $500 to $5,000 in fines.
- Unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon (CRS § 18-12-105): If any person is not authorized to carry a concealed gun, or they possess a firearm on government property or in a government building, they may face a class 2 misdemeanor charge. This offense is punishable by 3 months to 364 days of incarceration and/or $250 to $1,000 in fines.
- Unlawfully carrying a weapon (CRS § 18-12-105.5): This statute prohibits anyone from having a gun, without the authority to do so, on the property of a public or private school. A violation is a class 6 felony, which carries a prison sentence of 1 year to 18 months and/or a fine of $1,000 to $100,000.
- Illegal discharge of a firearm (CRS § 18-12-107.5): It is unlawful for anyone to shoot a firearm into a dwelling, building, or occupied structure or motor vehicle. This offense is a class 5 felony and is punishable by 1 to 3 years of imprisonment and/or $1,000 to $100,000 in fines.
- Possession of weapons by previous offenders (CRS § 18-12-108): Under this statute, if a person who has been convicted of a felony possesses a firearm, they could be charged with a class 6 felony and face 1 year to 18 months in prison and/or $1,000 to $100,000 in fines. However, if the crime they were convicted of was burglary, arson, or an offense involving the use of force or a deadly weapon, a violation is a class 5 felony, with penalties including 1 to 3 years in prison and/or $1,000 to $100,000 in fines.
- Unlawful purchase of firearms (CRS § 18-12-111): This law provides that if a person buys a gun for someone they know cannot legally have one, they are committing a class 4 felony. The conviction penalties include 2 to 6 years of imprisonment and/or $2,000 to $500,000 in fines.
Accused of one of the offenses listed above or any other gun crime not mentioned? Reach out to our Denver firearm violations lawyer to discuss your options for fighting your charge.
Put a Seasoned Denver Firearm Violation Lawyer in Your Corner
We know that in even the toughest of cases, there is hope. At Jim Medley Defense Lawyer, we will thoroughly prepare for your defense and seek a favorable result for you.