Houston:
Underage DUI Criminal & DUI Defense in Colorado

Jefferson County Underage DUI Attorney

Fighting Charges of Underage Drinking and Driving

A person under 21 years of age caught operating a vehicle with even the smallest amount of alcohol in their system can face fines, jail time, and/or loss of driving privileges. An underage DUI in Colorado is no joke; it can negatively impact an individual's future and their ability to take care of their daily commitments. If you have been accused of this offense, retain skilled legal services as soon as possible. Having a lawyer on your side early on in your case can increase the chances of seeking a favorable outcome and avoiding or minimizing penalties.

At Jim Medley Defense Lawyer, Attorney Jim Medley is an underage DUI lawyer in Denver with the skills and knowledge to take on even the most complex driving under the influence cases. He is a former police officer who understands law enforcement's methodologies. Additionally, he is a National College of DUI Defense graduate and regularly attends trainings on DUI defense. With our breadth and depth of understanding of DUI processes and criminal law, we can deliver the comprehensive legal representation you need to fight your charge. We will explore every avenue to protect your rights, future, and driving privileges.

Schedule a free consultation with our Denver underage DUI lawyer by calling us at (720) 674-7311 or contacting us online today.

What Is Colorado's Underage DUI Law?

Under Colorado Revised Statutes § 42-4-1301, it is unlawful for a person under 21 years of age to operate a vehicle when their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.02 or higher but not more than 0.05.

It does not take much to reach the legal underage BAC limit. Even just one drink can elevate a person's BAC to 0.02.

At Jim Medley Defense Lawyer, our underage DUI attorney in Denver will review all the evidence in your case to build an aggressive defense on your behalf.

Can You Go to Jail for an Underage DUI?

Whether or not a person under 21 years of age may be incarcerated for driving under the influence depends on their situation.

A first-time underage DUI is a class A traffic infraction, punishable by:

  • A fine between $15 and $100,
  • Up to 24 hours of public service,
  • Alcohol assessment,
  • Alcohol treatment program,

Thus, a first underage DUI violation will not result in jail time. However, a second or subsequent offense can result in a term of confinement.

Multiple underage DUIs are charged as class 2 traffic misdemeanors and penalized as follows:

  • Between 10 and 90 days of incarceration,
  • Between $150 and $300 in fines,
  • Up to 24 hours of public service,
  • Alcohol evaluation,
  • Alcohol treatment program

In a Denver underage DUI case, pleading guilty is not your only option, regardless of the State's evidence. You can fight your charge and seek a favorable outcome, such as a dismissal or not guilty verdict. Our attorney is ready to discuss courses of action you can take to aggressively challenge the accusations against you.

Does an Underage DUI Result in Driver's License Suspension?

Any person under 21 years of age accused of drinking and driving faces losing their driver's license. There are two ways this can happen. The first is an administrative suspension, which occurs when the driver refuses or fails a chemical test to determine the level of alcohol in their system.

Administrative suspension periods are as follows:

  • BAC at or above 0.02:
    • First offense: 3 months
    • Second offense: 6 months
    • Third or subsequent offense: 1 year
  • Refusal:
    • First offense: 1 year
    • Second offense: 2 years
    • Third or subsequent offense: 3 years

The second way the individual's driver's license may be suspended is if they are convicted of an underage DUI offense.

Driver's license suspension periods upon a conviction are as follows:

  • First violation: 3 months
  • Second violation: 6 months
  • Third or subsequent violation: 1 year

At Jim Medley Defense Lawyer, our Denver underage DUI attorney can represent you at both the administrative and criminal processes concerning your case. Reach out to us today to get started on protecting your driving privileges.

What Happens if the Driver's BAC Was Above 0.05?

As noted earlier, a person under 21 years of age may be charged with an underage DUI if their BAC was between 0.02 and 0.05. If their BAC was above 0.05, they face a regular DUI or with driving while ability impaired charge. The punishments for DUIs and DWAIs are much harsher than those for underage DUIs.

Conviction penalties for a first offense include:

  • DUI:
    • Between 5 days and 1 year of incarceration,
    • Between $600 and $1,000 in fines,
    • Between 48 and 96 hours of public service,
    • Probation for up to 2 years, and/or
    • Driver's license suspension for at least 1 year
  • DWAI:
    • Between 2 and 180 days of imprisonment,
    • Between $200 and $500 in fines,
    • Between 24 and 48 hours of public service,
    • Probation for up to 2 years, and/or
    • Driver's license suspension for at least 1 year

We know that this can be a frightening time for you. Count on our team to stand by you and stand up for you throughout your case.

Aggressive Underage DUI Defense in Denver

Even though evidence against the defendant exists, underage DUI cases are not always straightforward. Several factors can affect chemical test results and driving behavior. At Jim Medley Defense Lawyer, we will leverage our knowledge, skills, and resources to uncover the facts of your case and fight back against the allegations.

Discover what we can do for you by contacting us at (720) 674-7311 today.

Testimonials from Clients

Read Feedback from Real People
  • I am so GRATEFUL & THANKFUL I was refereed to them.

    “Fortunately Mr. Medley took my case and fought for a dismissal, I'm also thankful for Misty and their staff she kept me well informed and updated throughout the process!”

    - Jordan R.
/

Experience You Can Trust

Why Hire Jim Medley?
  • Over 10 Years' Experience as a Police Officer
  • Masters Degree in Criminal Justice & Forensic Toxicology
  • Over 30 Years of Experience in the Justice System
  • Hundreds of DWI/DUI Cases Dismissed
  • Instructor of Police Sobriety Tests & Former Police Academy Instructor
  • Professor of Criminal Law

Free Case Review

Call 713-766-1711 or Submit This Form
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.