15 Day Deadline
When a person is arrested in Texas and charged with DWI, the Texas Department of Public Safety will typically try to suspend their driving privileges right away. However, those charged with DWI will have 15 days from the date of their DWI arrest to schedule driver license suspension hearings. You’ll be permitted to hire a lawyer and fight to keep your driver’s license during your hearing. It’s important for you to request a hearing within 15 days, though, since you will lose your license automatically if the deadline passes before you file your request. There are no exceptions to this rule and no extensions will be allowed under any circumstances, which means you need to contact an attorney at The Law Offices of Jim Medley right away to get your request in on time.
Preparing to Fight for your License
Once The Law Offices of Jim Medley formally requests driver license suspension hearings for you, you will be allowed to continue to drive as you normally would unless there are conditions attached to your bond that prevent you from driving. The Texas DPS will not be able to legally take your license away until your hearing takes place. In the time leading up to your hearing, we’ll work diligently to put together police reports, witness statements, surveillance videos, 911 calls, and more to build a strong case for you. We’ll also subpoena the arresting police officers in your DWI case and prepare to cross-examine them at your hearing. As your DWI lawyer, we’ll make it our mission to help you save your license.
Refusal or Failure
At driver license suspension hearings, it’s up to the Texas DPS to prove you refused to provide police with a blood specimen or take a breathalyzer test during your DWI arrest. Otherwise, they must show that police obtained a sample from you that showed your blood alcohol level was 0.08 or higher when you were arrested. If they can’t do one of these things, you’ll have a strong case and could avoid driver’s license suspension. If they are able to make a case against you, you could face at least a 90-day suspension of your license. Either way, driver license suspension hearings are important because they allow you to keep driving prior to them while also giving your attorney time to prepare a defense for you for your DWI case.
While losing your license following driver license suspension hearings isn’t ideal, a good Houston attorney from The Law Offices of Jim Medley can help you make the most of the situation. We attempt to help you obtain court-ordered permission to drive to and from your place of employment every day. You will often be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle and get an SR-22 as part of the deal, but it will allow you to continue to make a living as you serve your driver’s license suspension.
Reach out to The Law Offices of Jim Medley at 713-668-2394 today to hear more about the importance of driver license suspension hearings.
Looking for more information? Contact us a free consultation!